Seat Belts

From ConsumerWiki
Revision as of 20:04, 11 October 2019 by Cinsuar (Talk | contribs)

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

735-Other State Agencies


SEAT BELTS go back


Consumers may find regulations for seatbelt use in Vehicle Code Section 27362.


Parents must secure children by car seat belts (or child carrier seats) when traveling in their own vehicles. All drivers are responsible for properly securing small children in safety belts (or child carrier seats) when transporting them in a vehicle when a child's parent is not present. All safety seats sold by California retailers must meet federal standards.


Limousine operators are required to wear a seatbelt and secure any passengers 4 years old or 40 pounds with a seatbelt.


The law does not apply to the operator of a taxicab, as defined in Section 27908, when the taxicab is driven on a city street.


The above Vehicle Code Section 27362 does not apply to:

  • School buses
  • Vehicles registered outside California
  • Children exempted by court due to size, medical condition, or physical unfitness


AB 3048 prohibits minors 12 years old and under from riding unattended in the back of an open pickup truck.


See Also:

Car Restraint Requirements (Child)

California Highway Patrol (CHP)

Motor Vehicles (California Department of)



  Directory of State Agencies 
    Directory of State Agencies
  Directory of Federal Agencies
    Directory of Federal Agencies 
  Return to DCA Home Page
    Return to DCA Home Page