Difference between revisions of "Mobile Home Laws"
|Line 148:||Line 148:|
Revision as of 17:21, 20 September 2019
Effective January 1, 1999 a legislative change took effect repealing the Department of Housing and Community Development's authority to review and approve plans, conduct inspections, and issue insignia of approval for recreational vehicles. A recreational vehicle includes a park trailer, truck camper, travel trailer, fifth wheel trailer, and motorhome. A recreational vehicle is not a manufactured home, a mobilehome, commercial coach, or special purpose commercial coach.
The Recreational Vehicle Industry Association (RVIA) enforces federal safety standards and conduct manufacturer on-site inspections to ensure compliance of those standards.
1896 Preston White Drive
PO BOX 2999
Reston, VA 20195-0999
(800) 336-0154 Association members only
(703) 620-6003 Consumer inquiries and publications
(703) 620-5071 Fax
The Department of Housing and Community Development Office of the Mobile Home Ombudsman helps resolve complaints with manufactured home installation, warranties, financing, and also with Health and safety issues at a Mobile Home Park.
Office of the Mobile Home Ombudsman
PO BOX 31
Sacramento, CA 95812-0031
(916) 323-9801 Mobile Home Ombudsman
(800) 952-5275 Complaints against dealers
Registration and Titling
P.O. Box 2111
Sacramento, CA 95812-2111
If mobile home was purchased from a real estate broker and there is a violation of the Business and Professions Code:
Department of Real Estate
Sacramento, CA 95818
(916) 227-0863 Fax
Will take complaints about mobile home installation and repairs performed by a contractor:
Department of Consumer Affairs
Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive
Sacramento, CA 95827
For complaints on work performed in Imperial, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino and San Diego counties, send complaint forms to:
Norwalk Intake & Mediation Center
12501 East Imperial Highway, Suite 620
Norwalk, CA 90650
(562) 466-6064 Fax
For complaints on work performed in any California county not mentioned above, send complaint forms to:
Sacramento Intake & Mediation Center
P.O. Box 269116
Sacramento, CA 95826-9116
(916) 255-4449 Fax
For questions on taxation or assessment as real property on public or private property. Provide Property Law Information on real or personal property:
Board of Equalization MIC:64
Assessments Policy and Standards Division
450 N Street, 21st Floor
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 323-8765 Fax
Rental Problems: Non-Profit Association that provides its members with assistance regarding mobile home questions. Will also assist non-members.
Golden State Manufactured-Home Owner's League, Inc.
PO Box 876
Garden Grove, CA 92842
Mobile home insulation or formaldehyde problems:
U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
California civil code pertinent to consumers regarding mobile homes:
Mobile home Residency Law (Civil Code Section 798.56)
Revises provision of existing law prohibiting cure of default on basis of nonpayment of rent, utility charges, or incidental service charges, as specified, more than twice during the term of tenancy, to instead prohibit the cure of such default more than twice during a 12 month period.
Mobile home Sales (Unlawful Occupant (Civil Code Section 798.75)
Provides that if a mobile home occupant, having no right of tenancy, refuses to surrender the park site within 5 days after demand, he or she will be considered an unlawful occupant and subject to summary proceedings. The occupant will not be considered an unlawful occupant if:
- The occupant is the registered owner of the mobile home.
- The management has determined that the occupant has the financial ability to pay the rent and charges of the park and will comply with the rules and regulations of the park and this statute.
- The management has failed or refused to offer the occupant a rental agreement.
Mobile home Tenant (Three Day Eviction) (Civil Code Section 798.56)
Precludes the commencement of eviction proceedings against a mobile home tenant until the payment of rent or other charges is at least 5-days late and a 3-day notice to pay or quit has been given to the tenant after the 5-day period has elapsed. The code also provides that if a homeowner has been given a 3-day notice to pay or quit on 3 or more occasions within the preceding 12-month period, a subsequent nonpayment would be grounds for eviction and no additional 3-day notice to pay or quit would be required.