Difference between revisions of "Medical Records (Privacy)"

From ConsumerWiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 76: Line 76:
  
 
Complaints against a provider over improper release of medical information or you are having trouble getting copies of your medical records, contact your local county medical society for assistance, or call the Medical Board of California.
 
Complaints against a provider over improper release of medical information or you are having trouble getting copies of your medical records, contact your local county medical society for assistance, or call the Medical Board of California.
 +
 +
 +
 +
 +
 +
  [[file:green_arrow.jpg|link=https://www.ca.gov/agencysearch/|Directory of State Agencies ]]
 +
    Directory of State Agencies
 +
  [[file:green_arrow.jpg|link=https://www.usa.gov/federal-agencies|Directory of Federal Agencies]]
 +
    Directory of Federal Agencies
 +
  [[file:green_dca.jpg|link=http://www.dca.ca.gov/|Return to DCA Home Page]]
 +
    Return to DCA Home Page

Revision as of 16:57, 1 November 2019

906-Associations/Organizations

MEDICAL RECORDS (PRIVACY) go back


The Privacy Rights Clearinghouse, affiliated with the Utility Consumers' Action Network (UCAN), advocates for consumers' interests and provides a wide variety of fact sheets for educating the public. The following information about privacy rights for medical records may be found in Fact Sheet.


Privacy Rights Clearinghouse

3033 Fifth Avenue, Suite 223

San Diego, CA 92103

(619) 298-3396

(619) 298-5681 Fax

www.privacyrights.org

E-mail - prc@privacyrights.org


Medical Information Bureau, (MIB, Inc.)

50 Braintree Hill Park, Suite 400

Essex Station

Braintree, MA 02184-8134

(781) 751-6000

(866) 692-6901

Email - info@mib.com

www.mib.com



HOW DO I GET ACCESS TO MY OWN MEDICAL RECORDS?


In California, health care providers must allow a patient (or his or her representative) to inspect all medical records within five days of a written request or provide a copy within 15 days of a written request. This includes doctors' offices, hospitals, mental health facilities and clinics. The health care provider can charge up to 25 cents per page to photocopy your medical record and to 50 cents per page copy microfilm. The legal code that authorizes patient access to medical records is California Health and Safety Code, Section 123100. If you received care in a federal medical facility, you have a right to obtain your records under the federal Privacy Act of 1974 (5 USC Section 552a).


Department of Consumer Affairs

Medical Board of California

Central Complaints Unit

2005 Evergreen St Suite #1200

Sacramento, CA 95815

(800) 633-2322

www.mbc.ca.gov


Complaints against a provider over improper release of medical information or you are having trouble getting copies of your medical records, contact your local county medical society for assistance, or call the Medical Board of California.



  Directory of State Agencies 
    Directory of State Agencies
  Directory of Federal Agencies
    Directory of Federal Agencies 
  Return to DCA Home Page
    Return to DCA Home Page