State of California California Department of Consumer Affairs

Tanning Salons

From Consumer Wiki

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Created page with '{| align="center" border = 0 ! |- | {| border = 0 cellpadding="20" cellspacing="0" |- | <h4 align="center"><big>TANNING SALONS </big><br /></h4> | go back |- |} |- |} <…')
 
(4 intermediate revisions not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
 +
<p>[[File:Whitebox.jpg|735-Other State Agencies|link=_Hint]]</p>
 +
{| align="center" border = 0
{| align="center" border = 0
!  
!  
Line 6: Line 8:
|-
|-
| <h4 align="center"><big>TANNING SALONS </big><br /></h4>
| <h4 align="center"><big>TANNING SALONS </big><br /></h4>
-
|  [[A|go back]]
+
|  [[T|go back]]
|-
|-
|}
|}
Line 13: Line 15:
-
<p>Tanning salons are not regulated. Effective January 1, 2005 Assembly Bill 2193 prohibits persons under 14 years of age from using tanning devices in salons, tanning parlors, and spas. Previously existing law requires a tanning facility to provide a written warning to customers and post signs warning that tanning beds and sun lamps emit ultraviolet radiation that is similar and sometimes more powerful than the UV radiation emitted by the sun. This measure would make a tanning facility that violates this provision of the law liable for a civil penalty not to exceed $2,500 a day.</p><br>
+
<p>Tanning salons are not regulated.</P><br>
 +
<p>Effective January 1, 2005 Assembly Bill 2193 prohibits persons under 14 years of age from using tanning devices in salons, tanning parlors, and spas.</p><br>
 +
 +
<p>California law requires a tanning facility to provide a written warning to customers and post signs warning that tanning beds and sun lamps emit ultraviolet radiation that is similar and sometimes more powerful than the UV radiation emitted by the sun. Tanning facilities that violate this provision of the law are liable for a civil penalty not to exceed $2,500 a day.</p><br>
Links to the web pages of all the California Counties’ Health Departments can be found at:<br>  
Links to the web pages of all the California Counties’ Health Departments can be found at:<br>  
-
http://www.healthguideusa.org/california_county_health_departments.htm/ '''www.healthguideusa.org''']<br>  
+
[http://www.healthguideusa.org/california_county_health_departments.htm/ '''www.healthguideusa.org''']<br>
 +
 
 +
 
 +
 
 +
'''If a patron is injured whereupon he or she must seek medical attention, a tanning facility shall do the following:'''<br>
 +
 
 +
(a) Report any injury to the [http://www.dca.ca.gov '''Department of Consumer Affairs'''].<br>
 +
(b) Send a copy of the injury report to the person who is injured.<br>
 +
(c) Send a copy of the injury report to the [http://www.fda.gov/AboutFDA/ContactFDA/default.htm '''Federal Food and Drug Administration'''].<br>
 +
 
-
Some County health departments take complaints about tanning salons.<br>
+

Latest revision as of 21:18, 3 October 2011

735-Other State Agencies

TANNING SALONS

go back


Tanning salons are not regulated.


Effective January 1, 2005 Assembly Bill 2193 prohibits persons under 14 years of age from using tanning devices in salons, tanning parlors, and spas.


California law requires a tanning facility to provide a written warning to customers and post signs warning that tanning beds and sun lamps emit ultraviolet radiation that is similar and sometimes more powerful than the UV radiation emitted by the sun. Tanning facilities that violate this provision of the law are liable for a civil penalty not to exceed $2,500 a day.


Links to the web pages of all the California Counties’ Health Departments can be found at:

www.healthguideusa.org


If a patron is injured whereupon he or she must seek medical attention, a tanning facility shall do the following:

(a) Report any injury to the Department of Consumer Affairs.
(b) Send a copy of the injury report to the person who is injured.
(c) Send a copy of the injury report to the Federal Food and Drug Administration.





Consumer Resource & Referral Guide Consumer Resource & Referral Guide
Directory of State Agencies Directory of State Agencies
Directory of Federal Agencies Directory of Federal Agencies
Return to DCA Home Page Return to DCA Home Page

Personal tools
Toolbox