State of California California Department of Consumer Affairs

Item Pricing Exemptions

From Consumer Wiki

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 1: Line 1:
<p>[[File:Whitebox.jpg|851-Local City/County Agencies|link=_Hint]]</p>
{| align="center" border = 0
{| align="center" border = 0

Latest revision as of 15:41, 14 March 2011

851-Local City/County Agencies


go back

(Civil Code §§ 7100-7106)

The management of any retail grocery store or grocery department must determine the number of consumer commodities normally offered for sale on a daily basis, and must determine the consumer commodities to be exempted. They must maintain and post in a prominent place in the store, a list of those consumer commodities exempt, and make the list available to designated representatives of the local union 7 days prior to an item being exempted.

Under the item pricing law, stores with computerized checkout systems do not have to price label the following items:

  • all sales items
  • Packed and unpacked produce, milk, eggs, ice cream in cartons, and yogurt
  • Baby food (strained and junior jars only)
  • Cigarettes sold in cartons, individual packages of cigarettes, and cigars
  • Individual packages of soft drinks, beer, candy, mints, and dry drink mix (Kool-Aid type)
  • Identical items in a unit package
  • Frozen novelties in cartons (Popsicle's)
  • Packages less than 3 cubic inches, weighing less than 3 ounces, and priced under 30 cents
  • Vending machines (items are priced on the surface of the vending machine not on the individual items)

There is no law requiring a merchant sell an item at the market price, when it was improperly priced due to unintentional error.

See Also:
Weights and Measures (County)

Consumer Resource & Referral Guide Consumer Resource & Referral Guide
Directory of State Agencies Directory of State Agencies
Directory of Federal Agencies Directory of Federal Agencies
Return to DCA Home Page Return to DCA Home Page

Personal tools