State of California California Department of Consumer Affairs

Item Pricing/Item Pricing Accuracy

From Consumer Wiki

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
Cicjscribner (Talk | contribs)
(Created page with '{| align="center" border = 0 ! |- | {| border = 0 cellpadding="20" cellspacing="0" |- | <h4 align="center"><big>ITEM PRICING/ITEM PRICING ACCURACY</big><br /></h4> | [[A|go bac…')
Newer edit →

Revision as of 21:49, 26 July 2010


go back

In California, the Division of Measurement Standards is a part of the Department of Food and Agriculture.

County Weights and Measures has jurisdiction over all pricing and scanner issues.

If anyone gets overcharged, they need to notify the store that there is a problem, and then notify their local Weights & Measures office.

Prices: Overcharges - AB 1721 (Koretz, D-West Hollywood)

Prohibits any person or store from charging an amount greater than the lowest price posted for a product, even if there is an expiration date posted for that product. This law clarifies that expired sale signs that are not removed must be honored by the merchant. It also clarifies the language of the law to cover scanner overcharges.

SEC. 2. Section 12024.2 of the Business and Professions Code is amended to read:

12024.2. (a) It is unlawful for any person, at the time of sale of a commodity, to do any of the following:

(1) Charge an amount greater than the price, or to compute an amount greater than a true extension of a price per unit, that is then advertised, posted, marked, displayed, or quoted for that commodity.

(2) Charge an amount greater than the lowest price posted on the commodity itself or on a shelf tag that corresponds to the commodity, notwithstanding any limitation of the time period for which the posted price is in effect.

(b) A violation of this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than twenty-five dollars ($25) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not exceeding one year, or by both, if the violation is willful or grossly negligent, or when the overcharge is more than one dollar ($1).

(c) A violation of this section is an infraction punishable by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars ($100) when the overcharge is one dollar ($1) or less.

Consumers can find regulations for item pricing in Civil Code Section 7100.

The Federal Trade Commission has a webpage with information, studies, and laws regarding checkout scanners:

Federal Trade Commission
600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20580
(202) 326-2222
1-877-FTC-HELP (1-877-382-4357)

Consumer Resource & Referral Guide Consumer Resource & Referral Guide
Directory of State Agencies Directory of State Agencies
Directory of Federal Agencies Directory of Federal Agencies
Return to DCA Home Page Return to DCA Home Page

Personal tools