State of California California Department of Consumer Affairs

Armored Transport Companies

From Consumer Wiki

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 44: Line 44:
-
<p>'''Publications available:''' None are offered by the Consumer Information Center.</p>
 
-
<p>'''See also:''' None</p>
 
-
<p>'''Other referrals:''' None</p><br>
 
-
 
-
 
<p>[[file:green_arrow.jpg|link=http://www.dca.ca.gov/publications/guide/index.shtml|Consumer Resource & Referral Guide]]
<p>[[file:green_arrow.jpg|link=http://www.dca.ca.gov/publications/guide/index.shtml|Consumer Resource & Referral Guide]]
     Consumer Resource & Referral Guide<br>
     Consumer Resource & Referral Guide<br>
-
   [[file:green_arrow.jpg|link=http://www.ca.gov/About/Government/agencyindex.html|Directory of State Agencies ]]  
+
   [[file:green_arrow.jpg|link=http://www.ca.gov/CaSearch/Agencies.aspx|Directory of State Agencies ]]  
     Directory of State Agencies<br>
     Directory of State Agencies<br>
   [[file:green_arrow.jpg|link=http://www.dca.ca.gov/consumer/links_federal.shtml|Directory of Federal Agencies]]
   [[file:green_arrow.jpg|link=http://www.dca.ca.gov/consumer/links_federal.shtml|Directory of Federal Agencies]]

Revision as of 21:12, 20 July 2010

ARMORED TRANSPORT COMPANIES

go back


Armored transport companies use trucks and vans, cars with light armor plate to transport money or valuables from one location to another. Licensing and complaint jurisdiction is within the following agencies:


Armored Transport companies must register all vehicles with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).


Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
2570 24th Street
Sacramento, CA 95818
(916) 657-7669
www.dmv.ca.gov


California Highway Patrol Requirements:

The California Highway Patrol (CHP) is required to inspect the place of business and the vehicles before issuing a license for operation of the armored vehicle. The CHP also requires an inspection of any additional vehicle added to the company's fleet of vehicles, and failure to comply can result in a $1,000 fine or a maximum of 6 months in the county jail. Initial license registration is $10.00 with an annual renewal fee of $5.00 which is paid to CHP. License application forms are available only in the Sacramento office (requires fingerprinting), but any local CHP office statewide will make inspections. Complaints related to vehicle safety operations or license violations should be made to CHP.


California Highway Patrol (CHP)
Commercial Vehicle Section
601 N 7th Street
Sacramento, CA 95811
(916) 843-3400
www.chp.ca.gov


California Department of Consumer Affairs, Bureau of Security and Investigative Services Requirements:

The driver and/or owner of the armored vehicle must be licensed with the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services (BSIS) and possess a current security guard card. Complaints related to security guards should be referred to the transport company and BSIS.




Consumer Resource & Referral Guide Consumer Resource & Referral Guide
Directory of State Agencies Directory of State Agencies
Directory of Federal Agencies Directory of Federal Agencies
Return to DCA Home Page Return to DCA Home Page

Personal tools
Toolbox